The historic Samuel Heald House (ca. 1740) is home to the Carlisle Historical Society and the Heald House Museum. The Museum displays a range of artifacts donated to the Society and the Town of Carlisle over the past century. The free, guided Museum tour offers visitors a glimpse into the lives of early Carlisle residents. Artifacts on display include: items from the home and medical bag of Dr. Austen Marsh, who practiced medicine and dentistry in Carlisle for 60 years (1840-1900); items from early Carlisle residents’ daily life, including pots, pans, toasters, ovens clustered “round the fireplace,” needlework “samplers,” men’s and women’s clothing, as well as a working loom and tools for carding and spinning wool, cotton, and linen; work tools and accessories employed by Carlisle residents in farming, husbandry, and light industry; personal items from Carlisle residents’ military history, along with special artifacts from the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, including muskets, a piece of the Old North Bridge, and a canon from Fort Ticonderoga. Adjacent to the Museum, visitors can peek into the remains of a Carlisle copper mine, view rocks from the Carlisle quarry, or explore the property’s barn, which houses a horse-drawn hearse built in the 1860s, along with other exhibits. Come in and explore Carlisle’s rich history!